• Home
  • /Learn
  • /What Are the 5 Elements of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework?
background image


What Are the 5 Elements of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework?


The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Cybersecurity Framework is a security approach that helps organizations manage and minimize cybersecurity risks. The NIST Cybersecurity Framework aims to create consistency by enhancing cybersecurity and reducing cybersecurity risk. The NIST provides various tools to assist companies in adhering to security and privacy regulations. 

Organizations can change their risk management strategy from reactive to proactive using the NIST Cybersecurity Framework

The five elements of the NIST cybersecurity framework

The NIST core functions support the development of a robust financial foundation and aid in determining cybersecurity requirements. The five requirements or pillars of a strong cybersecurity framework are: 

  1. Identify

Identifying the organization's current risk management procedures, crucial resources, and security capabilities is the main aim of this function. The idea is to identify cybersecurity risks and equip organizations with the knowledge to manage the risks to their systems and assets. 

The NIST Identify function lays the foundation for an organization's future cybersecurity-related actions. This cybersecurity framework helps organizations determine the risks, the dangers connected to settings, and how they may affect their business goals.

2. Protect

This category creates the necessary safeguards to confirm the safe delivery of vital infrastructure services. By using the Protect function, organizations can limit the impact of a possible cybersecurity event.

The Protect feature includes sections for awareness, training, and access control. For instance, it offers insights into two- and multi-factor authentication procedures to manage access to resources and environments. It also provides actionable advisories on employee training to lower the risk of accidents and breaches through social engineering tactics to protect the organization from harm. 

Employing appropriate protocols and policies to lower the risk of a breach is vital amid an uptick in attack vectors as the organization’s attack surface grows. The Protect function of the framework specifies the results that must occur to accomplish cybersecurity goals.

3. Detect

The Detect function necessitates the creation and application of specific activities to notice the occurrence of a cybersecurity event. A robust cybersecurity program must include the Detect function of the Framework Core because the sooner a cyber event gets discovered, the easier it will be to minimize its effects. 

The Detect function of the Cybersecurity Framework is crucial to the security and your organization's survival.

4. Respond

The Respond function uses actions like response planning, assessment, and mitigation to ensure the cybersecurity program is constantly developing. Enhancing the organization's ability to deal with security issues is the goal of this function.

Adopting the Respond function must begin with an incident response strategy to ensure compliance with the relevant reporting requirements. 

5. Recover

The Recover Function supports a swift return to normal activities to lessen the impact of a cybersecurity event. It tries to create and implement solutions to repair any services or functionalities lost because of a cybersecurity event.

It creates a solid security foundation centred on results rather than specific controls. Because the NIST cybersecurity framework is scalable and can be applied gradually, it won't abruptly challenge your company with operational and financial difficulties.

This will simplify your business's ability to achieve compliance and keep it ready to comply with any new rules NIST may implement.

Is the NIST Framework the ultimate solution for cybersecurity threats?

Since every company faces a unique set of threats of varying severity levels and points of infiltration, you cannot only use the NIST Cybersecurity Framework as a common approach to managing cybersecurity risks. You can use the NIST CSF profiles and levels to decide which tactics are crucial for safeguarding critical infrastructure.

Additionally, putting the framework into practice can be difficult. No matter what stage of cybersecurity your company is currently at, the framework is still a wise investment.

Final thoughts

Packetlabs methodologies, frameworks and standards are derived from the following and are enhanced by our internal team:

  • NIST SP800-115 to ensure compliance with most regulatory requirements

  • OWASP testing methodology (OWASP top 10 mobile, API, web, ASVS)

  • SANS Pentest Methodology

  • MITRE ATT&CK framework for enterprises

Packetlabs' penetration testing considers the framework's requirements while offering advisories to companies for improving their cybersecurity posture.

Get a Quote